article

Basic Phrases in French

Basic Phrases / Les Expressions de Base

Bonjour Bonsoir Bonne nuit
/bɔ̃ʒuʀ/ /bɔ̃swaʀ/ /bɔn nɥi/
Hello / Good day / Good morning Good evening Good night (only said when going to bed)
Salut Au revoir S’il vous plaît / S’il te plaît
/saly/ /ɔʀ(ə)vwaʀ/ /sil vu plɛ/
Hi / Bye Goodbye Please (formal / informal)
Merci (beaucoup) De rien. Je vous en prie.
/mɛʀsi boku/ /də ʀjɛ̃/ /ʒəvu zɑ̃ pri/
Thank you (very much) You’re welcome. You’re welcome. (formal) / Go ahead.
Bienvenu(e) Allons-y! A tout à l’heure
/bjɛ̃vəny/ /alɔ̃ zi/ /a tu ta lœʀ/
Welcome (also You’re welcome in Quebec) Let’s go! See you in a little while
A plus tard A bientôt A demain
/a ply taʀ/ /a bjɛ̃to/ /a dəmɛ̃/
See you later See you soon See you tomorrow
Je suis désolé(e) Pardon ! Excusez-moi !
/dezɔle/ /paʀdɔ̃/ /ekskyze mwa/
I’m sorry Excuse me! (pushing through a crowd) / Sorry! (stepped on someone’s foot) Excuse me! (getting someone’s attention) / I’m sorry! (more formal apology)
Comment allez-vous ? Je vais bien Très bien / mal / pas mal
/kɔmɑ̃ tale vu/ /ʒə ve bjɛ̃/ /tʀɛ bjɛ̃/ /mal/ /pa mal/
How are you? (formal) I’m fine. Very good / bad / not bad
Ça va ? Ça va. Oui / non
/sa va/ /sa va/ /wi/ /nɔ̃/
How are you? (informal) I’m fine. (informal response to Ça va ?) Yes / no
vous -vous ap Tu t’appelles comment ? Je m’appelle…
pelez comment /ty tapɛl kɔmɑ̃/ /ʒə mapɛl/
What’s your name? (formal) What’s your name? (informal) My name is…
Enchanté(e Monsieur, Madame, Mademoiselle Mesdames et Messieurs
/ɑ̃ʃɑ̃te/ /məsjø/ /madam/ /madwazɛl/ /medam/ /mesjø/
Nice to meet you. Mister, Misses, Miss Ladies and gentlemen
Vous êtes d’où ? / Vous venez d’où ? Tu es d’où ? / Tu viens d’où ? Je suis de… / Je viens de…
/vu zɛt du/ /vu vəne du/ /ty ɛ du/ /ty vjɛ̃ du/ /ʒə sɥi də/ /ʒə vjɛ̃ də/
Where are you from? (formal) Where are you from? (informal) I am from…
Où habitez-vous ? Tu habites où ? J’habite à…
/u abite vu/ /ty abit u/ /ʒabit a/
Where do you live? (formal) Where do you live? (informal) I live in…
Vous avez quel age? Tu as quel âge ? J’ai ____ ans.
/kɛl ɑʒ ave vu/ /ty ɑ kɛl ɑʒ/ /ʒe __ ɑ̃/
How old are you? (formal) How old are you? (informal) I am ____ years old.
Parlez-vous français ? / Tu parles anglais ? Je parle allemand. Je ne parle pas espagnol.
/paʀle vu frɑ̃sɛ/ /ty paʀl ɑ̃glɛ/ /ʒə paʀl almɑ/̃ /ʒə nə paʀl pa ɛspaɲɔl/
Do you speak French? (formal) / Do you speak English? (informal) I speak German. I don’t speak Spanish.
Vous comprenez?/Tu comprend? Je comprends Je ne comprends pas
/kɔ̃pʀəne vu/ /ty kɔ̃pʀɑ̃/ /ʒə kɔ̃pʀɑ̃/ /ʒə nə kɔ̃pʀɑ̃ pa/
Do you understand? (formal / informal) I understand I don’t understand
Pouvez-vous m’aider ? / Tu peux m’aider ? Bien sûr. Comment ?
/puve vu mede/ /ty pø mede/ /bjɛ̃ syʀ/ /kɔmɑ̃/
Can you help me? (formal / informal) Of course. What? Pardon?
Tenez / Tiens Je sais Je ne sais pas
/təne/ /tjɛ̃/ /ʒə sɛ/ /ʒən sɛ pa/
Hey / Here (formal / informal) I know I don’t know
Où est … / Où sont … Voici / Voilà Il y a … / Il y avait…
/u ɛ/ /u sɔ̃/ /vwasi/ /vwala/ /il i a/ /il i avɛ/
Where is … / Where are … ? Here is/are… / There it is. There is / are… / There was / were…
Comment dit-on ____ en français ? Qu’est-ce que c’est que ça ? Qu’est-ce qu’il y a ?
/kɔmɑ̃ di tɔ̃ __ ɑ̃ fʀɑ̃sɛ/ /kɛs kə sɛ kə sa/ /kɛs kil i a/
How do you say ____ in French? What is that? What’s the matter?
Ça ne fait rien. Qu’est-ce qui se passe ? Je n’ai aucune idée.
/sa nə fɛ ʀjɛ̃/ /kɛs ki sə pas/ /ʒə ne okyn ide/
It doesn’t matter. What’s happening? I have no idea.
Je suis fatigué(e) / Je suis malade. J’ai faim / J’ai soif. J’ai chaud / J’ai froid.
/ʒə sɥi fatiɡe/ /ʒə sɥi malad/ /ʒe fɛ̃/ /ʒe swaf/ /ʒe ʃo/ /ʒe fʀwɑ/
I’m tired / I’m sick. I’m hungry / I’m thirsty. I’m hot / I’m cold.
Je m’ennuie. Ça m’est égal. / Je m’en fiche. Ne vous en faites pas. / Ne t’en fais pas.
/ʒə mɑ̃nɥi/ /sa mɛ teɡal/ /ʒə mɑ̃ fiʃ/ /nə vu ɑ̃ fɛt pa/ /nə tɑ̃ fɛ pa/
I’m bored. It’s the same to me / I don’t care. (informal) Don’t worry (formal / informal)
Ce n’est pas grave. J’ai oublié. Je dois y aller.
/sə nɛ pa gʀav/ /ʒe ublije/ /ʒə dwa i ale/
It’s no problem. / It’s alright. I forgot. I must go.
A vos souhaits ! / A tes souhaits ! Félicitations ! Bonne chance !
/a vo swɛ/ /a te swɛ/ /felisitasjɔ̃/ /bɔn ʃɑ̃s/
Bless you! (formal / informal) Congratulations! Good luck!
C’est à vous ! / C’est à toi ! Taisez-vous ! / Tais-toi ! Je vous aime / Je t’aime
/sɛ ta vu/ /sɛ ta twɑ/ /tɛze vu/ /tɛ twɑ/ /ʒə vu zɛm/ /ʒə tɛm/
It’s your turn! (formal / informal) Shut up! / Be quiet! (formal / informal) I love you (formal & plural / informal)
Tu me manques. Quoi de neuf ? Pas grand-chose.
/ty mə mɑ̃k/ /kwɑ də nœf/ /pa gʀɑ̃ ʃoz/
I miss you. (informal) What’s new? Not a whole lot.

Note: The expression il y a is reduced to y a in everyday speech. When il y a is followed by a number, it means ago. Il y a cinq minutes means five minutes ago. Some common slang words for money include: le fric, le pèze, le pognon, des sous and for job/work: le boulot.

Leave a comment